Lexie Mountain Boys Sacred Vacation

Release Preview

"Sweet Potato Sugar Tot" mp3


Five Baltimore residents came together in 2005 to form The Lexie Mountain Boys and yes indeed they are all women.

“Sacred Vacation” is the result of three years of performances, events and tours in the US and Canada. Recorded in the sanctuary of St John’s Church in Baltimore MD by Wye Oak’s Andy Stack, “Sacred Vacation” is a document of years of unique vocal practice and fierce sisterhood. No overdubs were used, nor were any added effects on the vocals used beyond the glorious natural reverb of the sanctuary.

In the live performance arena, Mountain Boys offer something rarely seen — a fearless, sprawling energy to complement their bold and unusual vocal stylings. Dancing, marching, spinning, running, jumping, laughing, tangling, engaging the moment fully via costume and song, Mountain Boys shows are not to be missed. From a mythic rock opera titled “Woodgrain Manicure” to “Petals the Party Dress”, a twelve-person dress sculpture cum maypole, from dueling, chanting human pyramids to golden balls and Southern Belles, Mountain Boys performances playfully transgress gender roles and social boundaries.

Lexie Mountain Boys sublimate a wide array of vocal and non-vocal influences – doo-wop, Baltimore Club, modern experimental anti-traditions, radio pop divadom, vaudeville – into a completely new beast. The Mountain Boys are a singing group, and the term a cappella is both accurate and also somehow limiting in describing the sort of scope “Sacred Vacation” assumes. “Sacred Vacation” is music of the soul, the pure immediate nowness of tight homies, loose sounds, and the harmonics of freedom.

Artist Bio

“The lexie mountain boys lived a long secluded life until one day trekking down into the foothills and scaring everyone away.”
Baltimore, 2005. When Mikey from Warmer Milks first met Lexie Mountain, he said with a laugh, “You should have a band and call it The Lexie Mountain Boys!” So she asked her closest friends to come over and they started making tapes of themselves laughing and singing and talking. First came Amy Waller and Katherine Hill, then Lexie’s roommate Sam “Cotton” Garner joined in. At this point, Sam and Amy and Lexie recorded “Clean The House Properly,” which appeared on Lexie’s solo record (confusingly called “Boys”). Though it seems as if they were there all along (even before the band), at some point Roby Newton and Amy Harmon came over to sing and joke. Lexie Mountain Boys birthed itself onto a bill, dusted the blood off and never looked back. Well, rarely.


1. Shuffle, Sweep

2. Sweet Potato Sugar Tot

3. Fried Swash Accidental

4. Catcall

5. 2 Twigs/ Big Brown Goat Cheese Twins

6. Chick’n Box Rd

7. Low Tide Sirens Say

8. Mountain, Hill

9. Too Tall Too Tall

10. Deep Couch

11. Longdog Energy Drink

12. Filled With It, Possessed

13. Glasses Are Classy

14. Gimme Dat Ding!