Greg Davis Arbor


Is this a rock record, a folk record or electronic record? Surely the rockers will think it’s “electronic,” while the computer kids will find it “rockist,” and well….who knows what the folk listeners think. Regardless, Greg Davis has created a record that truly transcends these marketing genres. Arbor is something wholly new that manages to incorporate all these elements and more. In structural and aesthetic terms, think of a mix between John Fahey’s early acoustic records, fennesz’s “endless summer,” and Jim O’Rourke’s solo work.

Greg Davis has been formally studying music for the last seven years. He recently received his masters of music degree in composition from the New England Conservatory of Music and has also earned a music degree in jazz studies from DePaul University in Chicago. Some may know Greg Davis from his work as asterisk, with parallel, or as head of Boston’s Autumn Records. Greg also composes more “contemporary” scores for various ensembles (John Cage and Morton Feldman are his main inspirations) as well as collaborating with many of boston’s best and brightest such as hrvatski (they have an ongoing duo project) and Marumari (for their remix record forthcoming on Carpark.)

Carpark is certain that “arbor” is the harbinger of a new type of music we like to think of as “laptop folk.” Not to be confused with the genre “folktronica,” laptop folk’s aim is to integrate the digital and analog domains. Whereas previous attempts trivialized or treated the electronic element as a novelty, Arbor makes no musical hierarchy. At the beginning of this new century, it’s especially important to consider the ends are more important than the means.

Artist Bio

After years of hip-hop groups, jazz combos, free improvisation, and experimental composition, Greg moved toward the world of computer-based music. At DePaul University in Chicago, Greg studied classical & jazz guitar alongside composition and jazz studies. In 1997, he started his own label, Autumn Records, in order to put out his own music and the music of others. Several CD-R releases later, Autumn Records relocated to Boston in 1999 and released the ‘autumnature’ compilation in may of 2001, which featured the likes of: Marumari, Hrvatski, Lexaunculpt, Cex, Colongib, Asterisk (a.k.a. Greg Davis), and many more. At this time Greg was attending the New England conservatory of music in Boston, where he received his master’s degree in composition in June 2001. Mouthmoth Records’ Mothballs 7″ series also featured several tracks by Greg (as Asterisk) and his performing duo, Parallel, with Don Mennerich. Greg was an active performer in the Boston area, playing many shows by himself and with parallel. Greg relocated back to Chicago in august 2002. Greg’s ‘Clouds as Edges’ 7″ was released in October 2001 on Grounded Records. His debut CD, ‘Arbor’, was released in February 2002 on Carpark Records. Also, a Greg Davis & Don Mennerich split 7″ was released in may 2002 on Greg’s autumn records label. Greg has been touring since the release of ‘arbor’ doing an extensive 7 week tour of the US in March and April 2002 and a 4 week tour of Europe in May and June 2002, all with friend and musical collaborator, Hrvatski (a.k.a. Keith Fullerton Whitman).

Other releases for the coming year include various remix and compilation appearances, a Lux Nigra 12″, a Melektronikk 7″, a Tonschacht 7″, a live CD on Staalplaat as part of their ‘Mort Aux Vaches’ series, a Greg Davis and Keith Fullerton Whitman CD on Carpark, and a new full length album for carpark. Greg Davis and Hrvatski took part in this year’s impakt festival in Utrecht, Holland. Greg recently returned from a Japan tour (Kyoto, Osaka, and Tokyo) as well as a Midwest tour with Lullatone and shedding. Greg’s music will also be featured on an upcoming episode of MTV’s ‘the real world’.

Greg Davis has played live shows around the world with: Hrvatski, 242.Pilots, David Grubbs, Zoviet France, Chicago Underground Duo, Flying Luttenbachers, Adult, O9, Otto Von Schirach, Stars As Eyes, Lexaunculpt, Blectum From Blechdom, Viki, Mitchell Akiyama, Loscil, Casey Rice (designer), E*Rock, Inkblot, Marumari, Twine, Warmdesk, Bit Meddler, Flashpapr, A-Musik Soundsystem, Murcof, Lullatone, Shedding, Ogurusu Norihide, Fonica and more.


1. Submersion Tank Part One (V.2)

2. Coventry

3. Eleven Eight

4. Cumulus

5. Nicholas

6. Walking Home

7. Sea Green And Cyan (V.2)

8. Thirteen Eight B (V.3)

9. Arbor