Carpark Records 21st Anniversary: Compilation Album, New Merch, & More


This year marks Carpark Records’ 21st anniversary, and we’re celebrating the occasion with some very special releases and collaborations.

No Cover: Carpark’s 21st Anniversary Covers Comp:

We’re releasing a compilation album of Carpark (Family) artists covering other Carpark artists called No Cover: Carpark’s 21st Anniversary Covers Comp. Find some gems like Johanna Warren covering The Beths, Fat Tony & Skylar Spence covering Toro y Moi, Dan Deacon covering Ed Schrader’s Music Beat, and much more. The album is out now on streaming platforms, along with a pre-order for 2xLPs on stracciatella vinyl

Vinyl Pre-Order
Stream on DSPs
Listen to covers & originals side by side

Exclusive 21st anniversary merch:

Grab a cozy new hoodie, hat, or t-shirt featuring our new logo designed by Aaron Lowell from the Carpark store

Order 21st Anniversary merch

Carpark will be featured in Collective Arts Brewing Audio/Visual series in 2021:

The Audio/Visual Lager will feature four Carpark artists, The Beths, Dent May, Fat Tony, and Cloud Nothings on can labels designed by Heidi Burton in stores across the world. More information on that soon.

Collective Arts Brewing Website

More about Carpark Records’ 21st Anniversary:

Carpark Records is celebrating its 21st anniversary! From its early days as an outlet for the growing IDM scene, to releasing the genre-defying music of over 60 artists, Carpark has a lot to boast about in its 21 years of existence. To honor this milestone, the label is releasing No Cover: Carpark’s 21st Anniversary Covers Comp. The album features Carpark and imprint artists from all throughout Carpark’s history covering fellow labelmates and pushing the already eclectic music into exciting, new territory.

Label founder Todd Hyman established Carpark Records in 1999 in New York City, focusing primarily on experimental electronic music, including releases from artists such as Kid606 and Casino Versus Japan. When Carpark Records moved to the D.C. area in 2005, the label released music by numerous Baltimore acts, perhaps most notably, Beach House and Dan Deacon, bringing new attention to the label. Later, the 2009 single “Blessa” from Toro y Moi signaled the next chapter in Carpark’s history. The label continued to grow and released acclaimed albums by rock bands like Cloud Nothings and Speedy Ortiz. Holding on to the label’s love for electronic music, Carpark released albums from Skylar Spence (formerly Saint Pepsi) and Young Magic. Now, the label continues to work with exciting bands across the world such as Palm, Madeline Kenney, and The Beths. Over the years, Carpark has also expanded into a larger family of imprint labels such as Company Records with Chaz Bear (of Toro y Moi), Wax Nine with Sadie Dupuis (of Speedy Ortiz), Paw Tracks with Animal Collective, and Acute Records with Dan Selzer. These imprints have been responsible for breakout albums by Animal Collective, Panda Bear, Ariel Pink, Tanukichan, Johanna Warren and re-issues of seminal works by Theoretical Girls and Glenn Branca.

After 21 years of releases and tours, Carpark Records pays homage to its incredible roster with No Cover: Carpark’s 21st Anniversary Covers Comp. The album is full of creative reinventions of various releases from Carpark’s past. An energy-filled cover by Melkbelly of Dan Deacon’s “Crystal Cat” opens the album, followed later by Sad13’s churning cover of Cloud Nothings’ “Psychic Trauma.” Johanna Warren’s folk-leaning cover of the raucous, pop-rock song “Happy Unhappy” by The Beths, transforms the original into a solemn, gut-punching track. Skylar Spence and Fat Tony’s cover of “Ordinary Pleasure” by Toro y Moi is full of pop and disco flair, but holds onto the rhythm and expressiveness of its model. No Cover: Carpark’s 21st Anniversary Covers Comp is an exciting revisit, and reimagination, of iconic releases from Carpark Records.